Interesting Facts about Oceania

Australia (plus Oceania) is the world's smallest continent, it has 14 countries, spans a total area of 9,008,500 km2 and forms 5.9% of the landmass of the world. Oceania is a geographical region that includes the continent of Australia. The continent of Australia comprises of mainland Australia, Tasmania, New Guinea, New Britain, and numerous small adjacent islands. New Zealand is not located on the continent of Australia. However, Australasia is a region of Oceania that includes New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. Many of the Pacific island countries are located in subregions. The subregions of Oceania are called Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia.

Oceania (Australia) is the smallest continent by land area in the world. It spans a total area of around 8,525,989 km2. At 39,331,000 inhabitants, it also has the second smallest population of the all the continents, with only Antarctica's population being smaller.

Interesting Facts for Kids: Where is Oceania located? Oceania is located in the Eastern and Western Hemispheres in the Asia Pacific region and encompasses the continent of Australia and the subregions of Oceania which are called Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia.

Interesting Facts for Kids: What countries are in Oceania? The countries of Oceania in alphabetical order are as follows: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Interesting Facts for Kids: What is the largest country in Oceania The largest country in Oceania is by far Australia which spans a total land area of approximately 7,692,060 km2. Australia is the largest country situated entirely within the Southern Hemisphere and the 6th biggest country in the world. The capital city of Australia is Canberra although the majority of the country's population live in Sydney. The overall population of Australia is in excess of 24,450,561 people.

Interesting Facts for Kids: What is the smallest country in Oceania? The smallest country in Oceania is the island country of Nauru which located in Central Oceania in the Pacific Ocean. Nauru spans a total area of just 21 km2 of land and the country has a population of approximately 11,359 people.

Interesting Facts for Kids: What are the most populated countries in Oceania? The five most populated countries in Oceania are Australia, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Fiji and the Solomon Islands.