Uruguay Flag Facts

Uruguay Facts
The National Flag of Uruguay was designed by Joaquín Suárez whilst he served as the country's first head of state. The design features multiple white and blue horizontal stripes and incorporates the Sun of May symbol to its upper hoist. The Sun of May emblem forms an integral part of the flag's design and is important because it signifies the May Revolution; a revolution that features prominently in the history of Uruguay and South America and is considered the first successful revolution in the continent's struggle for independence.

Uruguay Facts
Uruguay is South America's second smallest country. It is located in south-east South America on the coast of the South Atlantic Ocean. The country stretches across a total area of 176,215 km sq and shares its borders with two countries: Brazil and Argentina.

Uruguay Facts
Uruguay has an overall population of approximately 3.5 million inhabitants. Around one third of the population live and reside in the capital city of Uruguay, Montevideo where many enjoy a high standard of living. Montevideo is also the country's largest city. The currency of Uruguay is the Uruguayan peso.

National Flag of Uruguay *** Flag Designer: Joaquín Suárez *** Date Adopted: 1828 *** Flag Description: Nine horizontal stripes alternating from white to blue featuring the Sun of May emblem *** Flag Colors: Blue and White *** Flag Use: National flag and ensign

Uruguay Flag Facts

  1. Facts for Kids 1: Uruguay Flag
    Although some design features have been modified, the first National Flag of Uruguay was introduced in 1828. This version of the flag consisted of a white upper canton and 17 white and blue horizontal stripes. A canton can be described as a square charge smaller than a quarter and situated in the upper corner of a shield. The upper canton features an image of the Sun of May; an important emblem that symbolizes this country's history and battle for independence.

  2. Facts for Kids 2: Uruguay Flag
    The current National Flag of Uruguay has nine horizontal stripes which alternate from white to blue. The nine stripes are representative of the nine original departments of Uruguay. The ‘Sun of May’ emblem dominates the corner of the upper hoist. The flag of Uruguay was designed by Joaquín Suárez, the first head of state of Uruguay, in 1828. Joaquín Suárez was the President of Uruguay from 1843 until 1852.

  3. Facts for Kids 3: Uruguay Flag
    One of the unique features of the flag of Uruguay is that unlike most other nations, its design features multiple white stripes as a divider between another color. The flag of the United States incorporates a similar style

  4. Facts for Kids 4: The Sun of May Symbol
    The Sun of May is the national emblem of two countries of South America; Uruguay and Argentine. The Sun of May can be described as a bright yellow symbol of the sun, featuring a human smiling face and sixteen rays which alternate between straight and wavy designs. In the upper canton, an image of the Sun of May represents a new nation to the world.

  5. Facts for Kids 5: The Sun of May Meaning
    The Sun of May emblem was inspired by the May Revolution that occurred from May 18 to May 25, 1820 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Spanish colony incorporated parts of Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay and Bolivia. The May Revolution is considered the first successful revolution in South America’s struggle for independence.