Bolivia Flag Facts

The Flag of Bolivia
The history of the National Flag of Bolivia dates back to the early 19th century when this South American country began its battle for independence. The National Flag of Bolivia features a tricolor design and was officially adopted on October 31, 1851.

Bolivia Facts
Bolivia is the fifth largest country in South America. It can be described as a landlocked country, located central to the continent of South America where it occupies a total area of around 1,098,580 square km. Bolivia shares its borders with five countries of South America; Peru, Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina and Chile.

Bolivia Facts
Bolivia is the 28th biggest country in the world. It's population is estimated at 9 million inhabitants. The official language of this country is Spanish and its people enjoy a rich culture, particularly in the fields of art, literature, music and cuisine.

National Flag of Bolivia *** Date Adopted: October 31, 1851 *** Style of Flag: Tricolor Design *** Flag Description: Three horizontal bands featuring the Coat of Arms of Bolivia central to its design *** Flag Colors: Red, Yellow and Green *** Flag Use: National Flag

Bolivia Flag Facts

  1. Interesting Facts for Kids 1: Bolivia Flag
    Bolivia began its fight for independence in 1809, with a new Bolivian Republic being declared on August 6, 1825. This South American country finally adopted the national flag in 1851. The National Flag of Bolivia can be described as a horizontal tricolor flag. The color of the stripes, from top to bottom, are red, yellow and green.

  2. Interesting Facts for Kids 2: Bolivia Flag
    There are numerous reasons why these colors were chosen to feature on the flag. Some say that red stands for bloodshed, and in particular the Bolivian soldiers who fought for the country’s independence and freedom, and in subsequent conflicts. The color green symbolizes the nation’s fertility, and yellow represents the country’s mineral deposits.

  3. Interesting Facts for Kids 3: Bolivia Flag
    Like many nations, Bolivia also has a formal State Flag, which features the coat of arms of Bolivia central to its design.

  4. Interesting Facts for Kids 4: The Coat of Arms of Bolivia
    The coat of Arms of Bolivia has a complex design that is highly representative of the country’s history, struggle for independence, geography and resources. The coat of arms features a central crest and is encircled by a border which incorporates ten stars positioned around the bottom half. The stars represent the nine departments of Bolivia, and also Litoral, which was annexed by Chlie in 1879. Within the border, the coat of arms features the silver mountain, Pitosi, with the sun rising behind it. An Alpaca stands next to a tree and a wheat sheaf. An Alpaca can be described as a type of mammal related to the llama. It is a long-haired animal that originates from the continent of South America.

  5. Interesting Facts for Kids 5: The Coat of Arms of Bolivia
    Six Bolivian flags, three on either side, surround the central logo. A pair of crossed cannons also feature on the coat of arms, symbolizing Bolivia’s struggle for independence. In addition to the cannon, four muskets also appear on the coat of arms. An axe and a red Phrygian hood are also depicted and represent liberty. The laurel branches are a symbol of peace, and the Andean condor highlights a willingness to defend the nation.